Welcome to the Transcribimus Homepage. Transcribimus is a network of volunteer transcribers who take hand written documents of our early Vancouver history and transcribe them into a searchable state available for free to the general public and researchers.

This entire initiative would not be possible without our volunteer transcribers and our sponsors who are also critical to the success of the project. We thank them!

What’s New?

Transcribimus was so pleased to be featured in the Vancouver Sun & Vancouver Provice in John Mackie’s recent article “Handwritten History Online

Sam Sullivan at Vancouver archives November 2022

Vancouver Sun | 4 Nov 2022 | JOHN MACKIE

“The City of Vancouver’s operating budget for 2022 was $1.747 billion. In 1897, it was $363,937. How do we know? Because volunteers for local website Transcribimus have gone through the original handwritten documents at the City of Vancouver Archives, transcribed them and mounted them online.”

Transcribimus founder and former mayor Sam Sullivan displays handwritten budget minutes from 1897 inside the Vancouver Archives.

Transcribimus has transcribed 5,167 pages of Vancouver’s handwritten history: 726 sets of Vancouver City Council minutes plus by-laws, committee reports and private correspondence.

New transcriber OviJune 18, 1897 – Special Meeting to Consider Smelter Proposition
Darlene OchottaAugust 9 – Jockey Club’s 10 Per Cent Will Improve Race Grounds
Lynn ShaneAugust 16, 1897 – Fenders Needed on Public Streetcars
Lynn ShaneAugust 23, 1897 – Vancouver Objects to Federal Government Cuts to Leper Colony Funding
New transcriber Sandra RobinsonSeptember 7, 1897 – Train Noises to be Quieted
Margaret SutherlandSeptember 10, 1897 – Alderman Coldwell dead
Joanne McCormickFebruary 21, 1898 – Jail Expansion Approved, Music Hall Vote Looming
Lynn ShaneMarch 21, 1898 – New By-Law Introduced for Wood Block Paving
New transcriber Sandra RobinsonApril 4, 1898 – $650 Granted to Children’s Home
New transcriber Marie Claude TremblayApril 22, 1898 – Council Reviews Tramway Agreements
New transcriber Carole WilsonMay 4, 1898 – Smelter Agreement Will Go To Vote
Lynn ShaneMarch 28, 1898 – BC Attorney General Asked to Appoint Crown Prosecutor
New transcriber Zak BennettMarch 8, 1897 – Liquor By-Law Amended
Joanne McCormickApril 12, 1897 – Council Questions CPR’s Building Materials

Volunteer Transcribers

Perhaps you might consider becoming a volunteer yourself. Together our remarkable volunteers have contributed 709 transcriptions of early Vancouver City Council minutes, as follows:

Master Scribes (more than 50 sets of minutes):

Global Civic Policy Society231
Gerald Soon113
Darrin Pezer/Proactive Building Maintenance87
Joanne McCormick64

Journeyman Scribes (25-50 sets of minutes):

Chris Stephenson45
Krystyna Richards25

Working Scribes (5-24 sets of minutes):

Donna Kynaston24
Leah Minuk14
Martha Hazevoet12
Lynn Shane8
L. Ellema9
Bronwyn Cripps7
Christine Cathcart7
Rachel Amanda Hennessy7
Cathy Harmer6
Chris Mizzoni – Nitzy’s Hockey Den6
Susan M. Willows6
YVR Mike6
David Laing5
Mary Ann Capistrano5
Darlene Ochotta5

Apprentice Scribes (1-4 sets of minutes):

Alannah Hall3
Brenda Chapman3
Gent Ng2
Leesa Poffenroth2
Lesley H.2
Sharon Mowat2
Sue Bryant2
Sandra Robinson2
Anita Dos Santos1
Cinda Jong1
Devon Harlos1
Jane Edmonds1
Janny P.1
Jenn Ashton1
Jordan Cripps1
John Belshaw – Vancouver Historical Society1
Judy Lam Maxwell – Historical Chinatown Tours1
Lynne Jambor1
Maria Klukova1
Mary Norris1
Michelle C.1
Sara Keay1
Siobhan Devlin1
Tegbir Kaur1
Marie-Claude Tremblay1
Carole Wilson1
Zak Bennett1