Vancouver City Council 1888

David Oppenheimer (bio)

Sam Brighouse (Ward 1)
John M. Lefevre (Ward 1)
Joseph Humphries (Ward 2)
John Dougall (Ward 2)
Henry Bell-Irving (Ward 3, resigned)
Robert Clark
Charles A. Coldwell (Ward 3, elected in byelection)
Richard H. Alexander (Ward 4)
Joseph Mannion (Ward 4, resigned)
G. S. McConnell (Ward 4,elected in byelection)
Robert Couth (Ward 5)
Isaac Oppenheimer (Ward 5)

MADDEN, W. D., 2003, Elected Officials of Vancouver, [online], Internet Archive,, April 1, 2020

Oppenheimer (b. 1832, Bleiskastel, Germany, d. 1897) was one of early Vancouver’s biggest landowners and businessmen. He was elected by acclamation for two of his four one-year terms. During Oppenheimer’s tenure, the city’s first water main was laid from the North Shore, a streetcar system was established, and electric streetlights were introduced. He also helped persuade the Canadian Pacific Railway to move its terminus to Vancouver, and helped secure Stanley Park for the city from the federal government.