The ward system in Vancouver, 1886

One of the first things the Mayor and Aldermen did when forming a government was to divide Vancouver into five Wards. This was done through Vancouver By-Law No. 3

Wards in Vancouver 1886

Here are the ward boundaries established in 1886, superimposed onto an old map of Vancouver. If you want a closer look, click here for a downloadable PDF of this map.

Speaking of boundaries, you might be interested to see that Nanaimo Street* was the eastern boundary of Vancouver, and Alma Street* was the western boundary. The southern boundary went west along Sixteenth Avenue to Fraser Street, then jogged through the Kingsway and Fraser intersection, and continued along Fifteenth Avenue to Nanaimo Street. That was Vancouver in those days.

The ward boundaries were changed in 1891 through Vancouver By-law No 118 and again in 1895 through Vancouver By-Law No 233.

Later By-laws continued to change the ward boundaries, and increase the number of wards to six (in 1904) , then to eight (in 1911, when Cedar Cottage, Kensington and Riley Park became part of Vancouver).

Then when Point Grey and South Vancouver amalgamated with Vancouver in 1929, the number of wards increased to twelve. Six years later, Vancouverites voted 62% in favour of abolishing the ward system.

* though neither of them were called that then. Nanaimo was called Boundary Road, and Alma was sometimes called Campbell Road and sometimes also Boundary Road. Confused yet?